home   about   search

biodiversity explorer

the web of life in southern Africa

Genus: Nothofagus (southern beeches)

Life > eukaryotes > Archaeoplastida > Chloroplastida > Charophyta > Streptophytina > Plantae (land plants) > Tracheophyta (vascular plants) > Euphyllophyta > Lignophyta (woody plants) > Spermatophyta (seed plants) > Angiospermae (flowering plants) > Eudicotyledons > Core Eudicots > Rosids > Eurosid I > Order: Fagales > Family: Nothofagaceae

Thirty-five species, native to southern Pacifc rim, including Chile, eastern Australia, New Zealand and New Guinea; also known from fossils in Antarctica. Six species have been cultivated in southern Africa. Previously placed in the Fagaceae.

Species cultivated in southern Africa

List from Glen (2002).

Nothofagus antarctica (Chilean beech)

Native to Chile.


Nothofagus cunninghamii (Tasmanian beech)

Native to Australia.


Nothofagus fusca (New Zealand beech)

Native to New Zealand.


Nothofagus obliqua (Roble beech)

Native to Chile and Argentina.


Nothofagus procera (False beech)

Native to Chile and Argentina.


Nothofagus solandri (Black beech)

Native to New Zealand.




  • Glen, H.F. 2002. Cultivated Plants of Southern Africa. Jacana, Johannesburg.